Happy Mother’s Day!

Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.  ~Elizabeth Stone

I had a lovely day yesterday which most notably involved waking up to lots of kisses and cuddles, no cooking or dishes and a 5 1/2 hour stretch of sleep!  It wasn’t until the end of the day that I remembered to have a photo with my cherubs.  So here we are out of our “good” clothes but ready to catch a memory of Mother’s Day 2011.

We celebrated with a delicious lunch created lovingly by Andrew with dessert by Bob.  It was a truly sumptuous menu made with love and no hands of mothers.  Nic and Hayley joined us from Sydney and worked hard in the kitchen between cuddles of the babies.  Eva of course enjoyed playing with her cousins and was tired by the end of the day.

Gran with her 5 Grandchildren

I find it hard to imagine what mother’s day must be like for those who have lost a child or for those who are struggling on the journey to motherhood or for those who are motherless.  It must be heartbreaking.  Every year (and every day) my mum has mother’s day without her son and still finds the joy to celebrate with her daughters and grandchildren.

In church yesterday I realised that sometimes there is joy in a day like today and sometimes sorrow.  For me this year I am thankful for two healthy babies and am enjoying every moment with them.  How blessed I am to be celebrating mother’s day with family.  It’s amazing to me to think that my fierce love for my children doesn’t compare to the love that God has for us.  Mother’s Day is a day to be purposefully thankful for the opportunity to love those around us.

Leave a Reply

