In Awe of Her

Sometimes I look at her and am in awe of what she has achieved.  Sometimes I don’t give her the respect that she deserves for that either.

She will always be different and unique due to the journey that she has travelled in her short life. Nature or Nurture: did her personality shape her journey or did her journey shape her personality?  We will never know.

She reached 10x her birth weight before her second birthday. That’s a lot of energy spent on growing. She worked hard for every gram.

She will always be a 25 weeker, one that has successfully survived and thrived. For that we are truly thankful and give glory to God for her.

Today, while baking together, I was cutting just 50g off a 500g block of butter.  Suddenly I was caught by surprise by the fact that at birth she was just a little heavier than 1.5 blocks of this butter.

Yesterday she drew our family complete with arms and legs for the first time.  In the days of labour while I waited to give birth I prepared myself for saying goodbye to my child.  I didn’t let myself imagine that she would be a 3.5 year old.  It was too painful.  Yet here she is living life to the full.

I am so thankful for her and need to remind myself how blessed we are daily.  Today she isn’t well with a mysterious fever, the theme of winter for us.  I have relished the extra snuggles with my little girl who is enjoying her pyjama day.

 

Leave a Reply

